Fairy tales have interested my sister and I ever since we were little. We watched Disney movies religiously as well, and it wasn't until I was a young adult that I realized my entire childhood was based on lies. I like the contrast between Disney and the Grimm Brothers because it's so extreme. What kind of guy takes bloody, horrifying fairy tales and makes them kid friendly? There's a way to do it because it certainly got passed my head when I was little. But once you learn the truth behind all the fairy tales it makes you wonder why Disney chose the stories he did.

I wanted to create this website to inform people of the vast differences if they were not aware of them already. I did not get a lot done today, but the research I found seems to be sending me in the right direction. I'm thinking about creating a couple tabs to contrast three popular Disney/Grimm classics (Sleeping Beauty, The Little Mermaid, and Snow White) then leaving the rest up to you guys to research yourselves. But don't worry I'll leave links, and videos to make your life easier.

Spoiler Alert: In Cinderella, the step sister's eyes are pecked out by pigeons, and they live as blind beggars for the rest of their lives.
Madeline Wood
5/14/2013 12:25:35 am

Danielle I love how the site is coming along! I really like the comparison between the Sleeping Beauty pictures to show the difference between Disney and the Grimm Brothers. Can't wait to see how the rest turns out!

Reply
Danielle Sharples
5/14/2013 01:39:48 am

Awwh! Thank you Madeline! I'll be dedicating the Snow White section to your obsession :P

Reply
Kelsey Wagner
5/14/2013 01:37:01 am

Danielle,

Your site looks great! I only have one suggestion; since you wrote so much about Disney, I think you should try to expand your part about the Grimm brothers on your home page. Other than that, I think that your topic is so creative and it definitely suites you!

Reply
Danielle Sharples
5/14/2013 01:40:35 am

You read my mind Kelsey! No worries, I was going to I just ran out of time today. Thank you though :)

Reply
David Yarboro
5/14/2013 08:54:24 am

You have an eye-popping home page that has a nice introduction to Disney vs. Grimm. I know you are just starting, but why does four pages have the same image on them? What is the significance?
So far, so good!!

Reply
Danielle Sharples
5/17/2013 01:58:52 am

Thank you! And that picture was just part of the theme.

Reply
Stefanie Gentile
5/14/2013 11:20:21 am

I really liked the topic of your website Danielle! I think it was so clever to compare the two topics together and see how they differ; it sure does capture my attention! The pictures are nice touch to visually see more differences between the two! I can't wait to see it when its finished!

Reply
Danielle Sharples
5/17/2013 01:59:38 am

Thank you Stef :)

Reply
Ryan Papargiris
5/15/2013 10:15:55 pm

I like what you have planned for your website it's definitely an interesting topic. I also think your theme and fonts go along with it well.

Reply
Ryan Papargiris
5/17/2013 02:00:16 am

Thanks Ryan!

Reply
monica perdomo
5/15/2013 10:16:51 pm

This is such an awsome idea i love the grimms fairytales! Can't wait to see how it turns out!

Reply
Danielle Sharples
5/17/2013 02:00:53 am

Woot woot! Glad you're intrigued.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Danielle Sharples

    I'm a graduating senior interested in the arts. I am going to the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth for Graphic Design, and Art Education. Fairy tales are just one of my interests.

    Archives

    May 2013

    Categories

    All
    Disney
    Fairy Tales
    Grimm